Edo State – History, Geography & Governors Till Date

Spread the love

Edo State, officially known as Edo, lies in the South-South geopolitical zone of the federal republic of Nigeria.

According to the 2006 National population census, Nigeria ranked the state as the 24th most populated state, with a population of 3,233,366.

Nigeria considers Edo State to be the 22nd largest state by landmass.

As of Mon Sep 18 the state’s capital and largest city, holds the fourth position as Nigeria’s largest city, and serves as the hub for the country’s rubber industry. Edo State shares borders with Kogi State to the northeast, Anambra State to the east, Delta State to the southeast and southsouth, and Ondo State to the west.

Edo state History

From 1963 to 1991, Nigeria had a division called the Mid-Western Region, which was formally known as Bendel state from 1976. The region formed in June 1963 by combining the Benin and Delta provinces of the Western Region, with its capital located in Benin City.

The Story of Nigeria’s Mid-Western Region

Back in 1963, Nigeria decided to make some changes to its map. They created a new division and named it the “Mid-Western Region.” This wasn’t just a random decision. The idea was to bring together two provinces – Benin and Delta. Before this, both these provinces were part of another division called the Western Region.

Now, you might wonder, where was the center or the main city of this new Mid-Western Region? It was in a place called Benin City. This city became the capital, which means it was the most important city in that region.

Read  Edo Deputy Governor, Shaibu Impeached in a Vote

But names and titles can change over time, right? That’s exactly what happened in 1976. The Mid-Western Region got a new name! It was now called “Bendel state.” The name “Bendel” is like a mix of “Benin” and “Delta,” the two provinces that came together.

However, by 1991, things changed again, and the Mid-Western Region, or Bendel state as it was known by then, was no longer a division in Nigeria.


Edo state has a Tropical wet and dry or savanna climate with yearly temperature of 28.78°C (83.8°F) and it is -0.68% lower than Nigeria’s averages. Edo typically receives about 183.49 millimeters (7.22 inches) of precipitation and has 265.91 rainy days (72.85% of the time) annually and at an elevation of 239.16 meters (784.65 feet) above sea level.


NameTitleTook officeLeft officePartyNotes
Colonel John Ewerekumoh YeriGovernorAugust 1990January 1992(Military)
John E.K. Odigie OyegunGovernorJanuary 1992November 1993SDP
Colonel Mohammed Abul-Salam OnukaAdministrator9 December 199314 September 1994(Military)
Colonel Bassey AsuquoAdministrator14 September 199422 August 1996(Military)
Group Captain Baba Adamu IyamAdministrator22 August 19967 August 1998(Military)
Navy Captain Anthony OnyearugbulemAdministrator7 August 199829 May 1999(Military)
Chief Lucky IgbinedionGovernor29 May 199929 May 2007PDP
Professor Oserheimen OsunborGovernor29 May 200712 November 2008PDPRemoved by court judgment invalidating his election
Comrade Adams A. OshiomholeGovernor12 November 200812 November 2016AC which later merged with some other political parties to become APC (All Progressive Congress) in 2013
Godwin ObasekiGovernor12 November 2016presentAPC then decamped to the PDPon 19 June 2020 to seek re-election[31]Reelcted 20 September 2020

Leave a Comment